This week was much busier than the first two. We were told we had to find our own assignments on the ds106 website, but the difficulty level had to add up to eight stars. Those of you who do not know how the website works, each assignment on the website has been graded on difficulty by the students. The more stars and assignment has, the more difficult. I started the week with the poster you see below.

openingdayposter

The description of the assignment was simple. Make a poster for an upcoming event. As you can see I chose the home opener for K-State football. This assignment was worth four stars and took me a few hours to photoshop each image. The hardest part of this assignment was the players and coach. I had to zoom way in to be able to get rid of all of the background. Overall I believe this poster came out great, and I’m hoping I can do a few more similar to this one.

My next assignment was something I have been working on for some time. My girlfriends graduation invitation is one of the hardest things I have done when it comes to design. I had to make a template so I know where to put all of the pictures, and then I had to enhance the images you see on the invitation. The images you will see are taken on a phone so the quality was sub-par, but for being a rough draft they got the job done. This assignment was worth three stars.

My final assignment was a fun one. I was to take something real and incorporate a cartoon. This assignment was only a star and a half. I jumped onto the internet to find a picture of a star fish and Patrick Stars shorts from Spongebob. The most complicated part of this assignment was just moving the “legs” of the starfish to fit into the shorts. The image is shown below.

Starfish
17 Aug 2002 — Starfish — Image by © Royalty-Free/Corbis

Now for the daily creates. I was only able to do two different daily creates for the week. One was to show my greater and lesser self, while the other was to make your own domain name. For the first daily create I jumped to photoshop and cereal. The image portrays my lesser self pouring milk before the cereal while my greater self pours the cereal first. I’m not exactly sure why I decided to do this for the daily create, maybe because I thought it was funny at the time. For the domain name I decided to go with .dot. I believe it would mess with people, and also annoy them.

Overall this week seemed more like what I would experience while working in this field, which I enjoyed. Although I was very busy throughout the whole week I believe I would be even busier while working

